C.W Park Named Recipient of 20th Paul D. Converse Awards in Recognition of Top Marketing Research

Choong Whan (C.W.) Park

November 23, 2021

C.W Park Named Recipient of 20th Paul D. Converse Awards in Recognition of Top Marketing Research

Work for the marketing industry wins top scholar recognition from the American Marketing Association

Marketing professionals from all over the U.S. were nominated for the Paul D. Converse Award, but only a select few were chosen. In 2020, C.W. Park from Marshall School of Business at the University of Southern California was named a winner along with Debbie MacInnis, Bernard Jaworski, and Michel Wedel.

The high honor highlights a clear pattern in successfully teaching marketing at the highest level to their students. Both C.W. Park and Debbie MacInnis were from the Marshall School of Business. The other winners were from Claremont Graduate University and the University of Maryland. MacInnis noted, “This award is a great honor and is powerful recognition from our peers, but it is significant to C.W., who earned his Ph.D. at the University of Illinois.”

C.W. Park has been at USC Marshall School of Business for 24 years. Prior to his work there, he was a distinguished professor of marketing for the University of Pittsburgh for 18 years. MacInnis brought on him, who was his graduate research assistant at the University of Pittsburgh (Pittsburg) before taking a job at USC.

C.W. Park has had more than 27,000 Google Citations noting his work. He has been published in the Journal of Marketing Research, Journal of Consumer Research, Journal of Consumer Psychology, and Journal of Marketing. He recently published a book titled Brand Admirations: Building a Business People Love (Wiley).

The Paul D. Converse Award was given by Gies College of Business at the University of Illinois. This award dates back to 1946 and is handed out every four years, honoring the memory and legacy of professor Paul Converse. A national jury of scholars and practitioners determines the award’s recipients rather than relying on a local chapter. This allows the award to go to the most deserving marketing professionals in the U.S. Fortune Magazine once compared the awards to the “Marketing Hall of Fame.”